(c) 2016-2019 Lady with a Quill   ~  Privacy Policy

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Goodreads Logo
  • Amazon-icon
Archive

Book Tour: Rules for a Rogue by Christy Carlyle

October 31, 2016

Exciting day today!  I am participating in a blog tour for a new release by Christy Carlyle, Rules for a Rogue, where I not only get to give you my usual review on the book, but there is also a fabulous giveaway involved!  Tasty Book Tours is giving away five copies of the new book.  Read all the way to the bottom of this blog post to participate.  Thank you to Avon Impulse (via Edelweiss) for providing a copy for review.

 

 

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo

 

Book Summary

 

From the USA Today bestselling author of ONE DANGEROUS DESIRE comes a sparkling new series about a rogue who must learn how to follow the rules and a woman who wants to break all of them, perfect for fans of Maya Rodale and Lorraine Heath.

 

Kit Ruthven's Rules (for Rogues)

 

#1 Love freely but guard your heart, no matter how tempting the invader.

 

#2 Embrace temptation, indulge your sensual impulses, and never apologize.

 

#3 Scorn rules and do as you please. You are a rogue, after all.

 

Following the rules never brought anything but misery for Christopher “Kit” Ruthven. After rebelling against his controlling father and leaving the family’s Ruthven Rules etiquette book empire behind, Kit has been breaking every one imaginable for the past six years. He’s enjoyed London’s sensual pleasures and secured his reputation as a Rogue, but he’s failed to achieve success. When he inherits his father’s publishing business, Kit is forced back into the life he never wanted. Worse, he must face Ophelia Marsden, the woman he jilted but never forgot.

 

After losing her father and refusing a loveless marriage proposal, Ophelia has learned to rely on herself. To maintain the family home and support her younger brother, she tutors young girls in deportment and decorum. But her pupils would be scandalized if they knew their imminently proper teacher was also the author of a guidebook encouraging ladies to embrace their independence and overthrow outdated notions of etiquette like the Ruthven Rules.

 

As Kit rediscovers the life, and the woman, he left behind, Ophelia must choose between the practicalities she never truly believed in, or the love she’s never been able to extinguish.

 

Book Review

I enjoyed this book very much! Though I would consider it somewhat of a "beach read" for its lighthearted plot and how quick it was to read, I think it would be a lovely book to read when you're having a down day. Christy Carlyle brings feminism and old-school romance together to create a witty, banter-filled story of two childhood sweethearts who fall in love all over again.

Christopher "Kit" Ruthven has been away from his home for four years, working in London to pursue a career as a playwright. Though he enjoys the theater immensely, he has never forgotten about his lost love, Ophelia Marsden. When he receives word that his estranged father has passed away, he is eager to return to his childhood home and have the chance to see Ophelia again. However, he's in for a surprise when he finds Ophelia bitter over their separation. It will take all of his charm to win her hand, and her heart, again.

Kit was such a fun character! I haven't read many books where the hero is a playwright, and it was a fun new experience for me. His charming efforts to win Ophelia's heart were entertaining to read, especially when she was so steadfast in rebuffing him. It's always more fun when the heroine sticks to her guns and makes the hero work for her heart. Ophelia was someone I felt I could easily be friends with - she's friendly, unafraid to be different and has the confidence to stand up to those who would change her. I was cheering several times as I was reading. 

This was a very enjoyable book and one I hope you will give it a try. I'm excited to see who the next book focuses on. Sophia (Kit's sister) and Grey (Kit's friend), perhaps? I hope so!

 

Giveaway

 

 

Please reload

Please reload

Tag Cloud